Small-Museum Grants Awarded

LITTLE ROCK—Thirty-three organizations from around Arkansas received a Small Museum Grant from the Department of Arkansas Heritage at a ceremony held at DAH’s headquarters in Little Rock on July 24th. The grants ranged in size from $1,910 to $2,425 for each institution and will fund such things as operations, exhibit development and archival storage.

“There is so much rich history in every corner of the state, and many small museums with wonderful volunteers, who are passionate about telling their local stories,” said Stacy Hurst, secretary of the Department of Parks, Heritage & Tourism. “We are delighted to provide support for those endeavors.”

Grants were announced for the following organizations:

  1. Ozark Foothills African-American History Museum, Twin Groves, $1,940
  2. Boone County Historical & Railroad Society, Harrison, $2,425
  3. Buffalo Island Museum, Monette, $2,425
  4. Calico Rock Museum & Visitor Center, Calico Rock, $2,425
  5. Cherokee Village Historical Society, Cherokee Village, $2,425
  6. Altus Heritage House Museum, Altus, $2,425
  7. Fairfield Bay Heritage Center, Fairfield Bay, $1,225
  8. MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History, Little Rock, $2,425
  9. Cotton Plant Historical Museum, Cotton Plant, $2,230
  10. Cross County Historical Society, Wynne, $2,425
  11. Dermott Historical Museum, Dermott, $2,425
  12. Desha County Museum, Dumas, $1,850
  13. Delta Gateway Museum, Blytheville, $1475
  14. Eureka Springs Historical Museum, Eureka Springs, $2,425
  15. Faulkner County Museum, Conway, $1,820
  16. Randolph County Heritage Museum, Pocahontas, $2,425
  17. Fort Smith Heritage Foundation/Clayton House, Fort Smith, $2,425
  18. Greene County Historical and Genealogical Society, Paragould, $2,400
  19. Helena Museum of Phillips County, Helena, $2,425
  20. Hot Spring County Museum, Malvern, $2,425
  21. Hot Spring County Historical Society, Malvern, $2,425
  22. Howard County Historical Society, Nashville, $2,425
  23. Johnson County Historical Society & Heritage Center, Clarksville, $2,395
  24. Lonoke County Museum, Lonoke, $1,910
  25. Manila Depot Committee, Manila, $2,425
  26. Nevada County Depot & Museum, Prescott, $2,425
  27. Old Independence Regional Museum, Batesville, $1,980
  28. Rector Community Museum, Rector, $2,425
  29. Saunders Memorial Museum, Berryville, $2,425
  30. Siloam Springs Museum, Siloam Springs, $2,425
  31. Texarkana Museums System, Texarkana, $2425
  32. Wings of Honor Museum, Walnut Ridge, $2,425
  33. Washington County Historical Society, Fayetteville, $2,425

To be eligible for the grants, applicants had to be non-profit museums or historical societies with annual operating budgets of up to $250,000 and at least one staff person, either paid or unpaid. Staff time must be devoted primarily to the care of the museum and its collections, and the museum must be open to the public at least 90 days per year.

For more information on the grant process or future grant cycles, go to or contact Debra Fithen, grants manager for the Department of Arkansas Heritage, at or (501) 324-9150.

Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions