Shade Trees On Playgrounds Program


The Arkansas Agriculture Department’s Forestry Commission has selected 11 playgrounds to participate in the Shade Trees on Playgrounds program.

Among them: Ascent Children’s Health Services in Independence County;  Lonoke Elementary School; and Springhill Elementary School in Faulkner County.

The Shade Trees on Playgrounds Program was organized to lower adult skin cancer risk by reducing childhood exposure to direct sunlight where children play, like school playgrounds. Winning schools receive five shade trees, mulch, watering supplies, and planting guidelines after participating in program training.    MORE

Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions