National Blue Ribbon Schools


Conway’s Woodrow Cummins Elementary School has been named a 2018 National Blue Ribbon School.

Honored for their exemplary high academic performance, Woodrow Cummins is one of three schools in Arkansas and 349 schools in the nation to receive the 2018 distinction.

“Woodrow Cummins Elementary is honored to be recognized as a school that has consistently demonstrated high academic success,” says Principal Dayna Lewis. “The National Blue Ribbon School award affirms the hard work of our students, parents, and staff in creating a safe and supportive environment where students are inspired to achieve their best.”

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award champions the efforts of educators, families and communities where students master challenging and engaging content each day.

Conway’s Jim Stone and Ellen Smith Elementary Schools have also received the National Blue Ribbon Award in 2011 and 2013, respectively.

Superintendent Dr. Greg Murry says there is good reason to be proud of this honor.

“We are very proud of this significant recognition of the staff at Woodrow Cummins,” says Murry. “They are to be commended for this considerable achievement.  All of our teachers continue to do outstanding work in the classroom.”

Now in its 36th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,800 schools. On November 7-8, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with 300 public and 49 private school honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions