McDonald, M.D., Invested In Ernest J. Ferris, M.D. Chair In Diagnostic Radiology

James E. McDonald, M.D., F.A.C.R., chair of the Department of Radiology in the College of Medicine at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), was invested March 27 as the holder of the Ernest J. Ferris, M.D., Chair in Diagnostic Radiology.

McDonald, who joined UAMS in 2010, was appointed department chair in November 2016. An endowed chair is among the highest academic honors a university can bestow on a faculty member and is established with gifts of at least $1 million, which are invested and the proceeds used to support the educational, research and clinical activities of the chair holder. Those named to a chair are among the most highly regarded scientists, physicians and professors in their fields.

“I congratulate Dr. McDonald for the many accomplishments that have merited this honor,” said UAMS Interim Chancellor Stephanie Gardner, Pharm.D., Ed.D. “From one Southerner to another, the best way to say this is, we appreciate you. We appreciate your leadership at UAMS of our clinical, academic and research activities that support our overall mission, and we appreciate everyone who has helped make this chair a reality.”   MORE

Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions