Several Counties Now Under Burn Bans


White County and the city of Searcy are the latest entities to join burn bans in Arkansas.

Searcy Mayor David Morris issued the following statement Monday morning:
Due to the extremely dry conditions it is necessary to issue a burn ban for the City of Searcy.  This ban is effective immediately for all areas within the City of Searcy.

This notice is to run concurrent with the burn ban recently issued for White County by County Judge Michael Lincoln and will be in effect for the duration of the county-wide burn ban.

Current drought conditions and weather forecasts for low humidity and periodic gusty winds are creating significant wildfire danger across Arkansas. Until the state gets rain, residents are urged to use caution with outdoor burning, and should avoid outdoor burning altogether if winds exceed 5-10 miles per hour.

Among the area counties with burn bans are: Cleburne, Conway, Faulkner, Independence, Lonoke, Perry, Stone, Van Buren and White.

Several Central Arkansas Counties have upgraded their wildfire danger from moderate to high. Among them: Cleburne, Conway, Faulkner, Independence, Izard, Lawrence, Perry, Pulaski, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren and White.

Arkansas Forestry Commission lists 46 counties as having high wildfire danger. The other 29 counties in the state are under a moderate wildfire danger.


Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions