ASU-Beebe Theater To Present ‘The Diviners’

The Theater Department at Arkansas State University–Beebe will present “The Diviners” on Thursday through Saturday, Nov. 1-3, at 7 p.m. in the Owen Center Auditorium on the Beebe campus. The play is open to the public and admission is free. Doors open at 6:30 p.m.

The Diviners, by Dr. Jim Leonard, is a play about loss and redemption, featuring live gospel and Americana music. The play begins when C. C. Showers, a former Kentucky preacher, gets a job on a farm in the fictional small town of Zion. He soon befriends a youth named Buddy Layman, who has a special gift of locating underground water, known as a diviner.

Cast members include Buddy Layman, played by Tyler Jones of Beebe, with understudy Joseph Weichbrodt of Beebe; C.C. Showers, played by Brenden Lentz of Beebe, with understudy Chad Swanner of Beebe; Ferris Layman, played by Jason McCoy of Beebe, with understudy Delton Guthrie of Bald Knob; Jennie Mae Layman, played by Miraya Gerardo-Munguia of Searcy, with understudy Emily Dobbs of Beebe.

Other cast includes Basil Bennett played by Nathan Gibbons of Arlington, TX; Luella Bennett, played by Hayley Murry of Beebe; Norma Henshaw, played by Skylar Harmon of Bald Knob; Darlene Henshaw, played by Brittney Reed of Judsonia; Billie Jean Shores, played by Hannah Dyson of Beebe; Dewey Maples, played by Caleb Burley of Searcy; Melvin Wilder, played by Gage Altes of Cabot; and Goldie Short, played by Hope Smith of Ward.

ASU-Beebe is the only two-year college in central Arkansas that offers an Associate of Fine Arts (AFA) degree. The AFA degree has an emphasis in vocal music or instrumental music, theater, graphic design, or creative arts enterprise. This degree is a comprehensive two-year curriculum designed specifically for transfer toward a bachelor’s degree in fine arts.

The Owen Center Auditorium is located on the Beebe campus at 910 N. Pecan Street. For more information about ASU-Beebe, call (501) 882-3600 or view the website at

Founded in 1927, Arkansas State University-Beebe is an operationally separate, two-year institution of the Arkansas State University System. With campuses located in Beebe, Heber Springs, Searcy, the Little Rock Air Force Base, and online, the university offers associate degrees, certificates, and non-credit training for business and industry. The Beebe campus also collaborates with Arkansas State, a four-year university in Jonesboro, to offer baccalaureate and graduate degrees on the Beebe campus. ASU-Beebe is nationally recognized by the Aspen Institute for student success rates.

Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions