ASU-Beebe Chancellor Search


Arkansas State University System President Dr. Charles L. Welch announced today that three candidates have been invited to interview for the position of chancellor at ASU-Beebe.

The three candidates are Dr. Jason Goodner, Dean of Arts & Humanities at ASU-Beebe, who will interview April 11-12; Dr. Jennifer Methvin, President of Crowder College in Neosho, Mo., who will interview April 12-13; and Roger Moore, Interim Chancellor of ASU-Beebe, who will interview April 9-10.

The invitations to formally interview on campus come after recent meetings Welch conducted with the Chancellor Search Advisory Committee. The advisory committee, consisting of 14 members representing  faculty, staff, students and community representatives, has reviewed 61 applications for the position.

Committee members include Welch, committee chair; Stewart Prosser, student government president; Dr. Jake Marquess, associate professor of biology; Suzanne Lindsey, assistant professor of English; Dr. Brent Bristow, professor of music; Shawn Taillon, Agriculture Equipment Technology Department  head; Tonya Tucker, assistant registrar; Dr. Suzanne Bailey, dean of Career Education; Rachel Lewis, research analyst; Frank Taylor, Student Union night manager; Emily Fisher, buyer; Alison West, assistant professor of mathematics; and community representatives Howard Chapin and Cathy Eoff.

The candidates will meet with the advisory committee, faculty, staff, students and community members during scheduled interview sessions. Individuals attending the interview sessions will have an opportunity to submit feedback regarding each candidate to the Chancellor Search Advisory Committee. Following the final interview, the advisory committee will meet to discuss the candidates and provide feedback to Welch.

Welch has indicated a desire to have a new chancellor named by early May. The position and related information are posted on the ASU-Beebe website at Applications will be accepted and reviewed until the position is filled.

ASU-Beebe has an average enrollment of more than 4,000 students and is the only two-year college in Arkansas with residence halls. ASU-Beebe is an operationally separate two-year institution of the ASU System with additional campuses in Heber Springs, Searcy and the Little Rock Air Force Base, as well as online programs. The university offers associate degrees, certificates, and non-credit training for business and industry. The Beebe campus also collaborates with Arkansas State University, a  four-year research university in Jonesboro, to offer baccalaureate and graduate degrees.

The ASU System serves 23,300 students throughout Arkansas and also includes ASU-Newport, with additional campuses in Jonesboro and Marked Tree; ASU Mountain Home; and ASU Mid-South in West Memphis.


Dr. Jason Goodner

Dr. Goodner has served as Dean of Arts & Humanities at ASU-Beebe since July and previously was executive director of assessment and accreditation at Albany State University in Albany, Ga. He served in various interim leadership roles at Darton State College in Albany in 2016. He was  academic dean at Andrew College in Cuthbert, Ga., from 2009-2014.

He received an Associate of Science degree in middle school education at Darton State College, a Bachelor of Science in applied sociology at Georgia Southern University, a Master of Science in social services administration at Georgia Southwestern State University, and a Doctor of Education at Valdosta State University.

Dr. Jennifer Methvin

Dr. Methvin has served as president of Crowder College in Neosho, Mo., since 2014. She was previously vice chancellor for academics at University of Arkansas Community College at Hope from 2005-2014. She served in various roles, including Division Chair of Arts and Sciences, at University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville from 1999-2005, and was assistant professor of English at ASU-Newport from 1993-1999.

She received a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in creative writing and English at Arkansas Tech University, a Master of Arts in creative writing and English at Oklahoma State University, and a Doctor of Philosophy in community college leadership at Walden University.

Roger Moore

Moore has served as interim chancellor of ASU-Beebe since August. During a 20-year career with ASU-Beebe, his roles have also included vice chancellor for finance and administration from 2016-2017, director of the Student Success Center from 2012-2016, and assistant professor of business and information systems from 1998-2011.

He received an Associate in Applied Science degree at New Mexico Junior College, a Bachelor of Business Administration in business administration at the University of the Southwest and a Master of Business Administration at the University of Central Arkansas. He has completed coursework toward a doctoral degree in organizational leadership in higher education from Grand Canyon University.

Founded in 1927, Arkansas State University-Beebe is an operationally separate, two-year institution of the Arkansas State University System. With campuses located in Beebe, Heber Springs, Searcy, the Little Rock Air Force Base, and online, the university offers associate degrees, certificates, and non-credit training for business and industry. The Beebe campus also collaborates with Arkansas State, a four-year university in Jonesboro, to offer baccalaureate and graduate degrees on the Beebe campus. ASU-Beebe is nationally recognized by the Aspen Institute for student success rates.


Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions