Arkansas Democratic Chair Loses House Seat


Democratic Party of Arkansas Chairman Rep. Michael John Gray, D-Augusta, lost his bid for another term in the Arkansas State House on Tuesday night, despite reports of a possible tabulation error with the Arkansas Secretary of State’s Office.

Gray was defeated 51% to 49% (3,643 to 3,545 votes cast) by Craig Christiansen in the District 47 contest, according to the Arkansas Secretary of State’s Office.

Secretary of State spokesman Chris Powell told Talk Business & Politics that some numbers in a few races had to be modified Wednesday, but the numbers listed are the ones they have tallied.

“According to our figures … Gray did lose that race,” he said.    MORE

Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions