17 Area Farms Inducted

Arkansas Century Farm

Governor Asa Hutchinson and Arkansas Secretary of Agriculture Wes Ward inducted 42 Arkansas farms into the Arkansas Century Farm Program at the State Capitol on Wednesday, including 17 area farms.

The Arkansas Century Farm Program recognizes Arkansas farms of 10 acres or more owned by the same family for at least 100 years.

The Arkansas Agriculture Department began the Century Farm program in 2012 as a way to highlight the contributions of these families to the agriculture industry well as their overall contributions to our state. Agriculture is Arkansas’s largest industry, contributing more than $20 billion to the state’s economy annually and providing one in every six jobs in the state. Arkansas consistently ranks in the top 25 nationally in the production of 23 agricultural commodities.

Among the new farm families are one from Conway County, eight from Faulkner County, one from Lawrence County, three from Lonoke County, two from Van Buren County and two from Woodruff County.   MORE

Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions