Area Troopers Honored

On Wednesday, the Arkansas State Police Awards Ceremony was held in Little Rock.

Recipients include: Trooper Christopher Barnett, of Batesville, assigned to Highway Patrol Division, Troop B, who on August 4, 2018, responded to a motor vehicle crash along U.S. Highway 67 near Searcy where he discovered a victim who was in critical condition and in a shock from a significant blood loss.  Trooper Barnett used a state police trauma kit to begin life saving measures using tourniquets to stop the bleeding.  The trooper’s action, according to physicians, saved the crash victim’s life.

Corporal Ronald Laslo, of Newark, assigned to Highway Patrol Division, Troop B, who on May 22, 2018, began providing life saving measures to a suicide victim found in a rural part of Jackson County.  Using a state police trauma kit, Corporal Laslo was able to keep the victim alive until emergency medical personnel arrived at the scene.

Special Agent Randall Murphy, of McCrory, Criminal Investigation Division, Company A was among those presented Official Commendations for acts of exemplary service.

Harold W. Cantwell, of Jacksonville, was presented with a Distinguished Service Award for law enforcement officers from departments other than the Arkansas State Police, and non-department civilians who collectively or individually came to the assistance of Arkansas State Troopers.     MORE

Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions