AHPP Awards Grants

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, announced their 2020 Downtown Revitalization Grant, County Courthouse Grant and Historic Preservation Restoration Grant recipients at an awards presentation on Tuesday.

This year, $309,500 in grant funding was given out to 37 projects on Main Streets and in downtowns across Arkansas.

Among the $15,000 recipients: Conway Downtown Partnership, Main Street Batesville and Main Street Searcy. The Newport Downtown Revitalization and Improvement Volunteer Effort received a $1,000 grant.

Recipients of Downtown Revitalization Grants are allowed to use the money for a wide range of projects such as building rehabilitations, parks, streetscape improvements and other design-related projects that will have major long-term impacts in the local Main Street area.    MORE

This year, $1,531,520.00 in County Courthouse grant funding was given out to 25 worthy recipients who completed applications for consideration.

Among the recipients: Cleburne County, City of Heber Springs- Phase 1 -electrical upgrades to prep for new HVAC System(s), $103,757; Lawrence County, City of Walnut Ridge- Complete roof repair, $33,000; and Prairie County, City of Des Arc- Restore windows, paint and repair remaining windows of North elevation, $14,600.

To apply for a County Courthouse Grant a structure must be listed on the National Register of Historic Places or eligible for listing, either individually or as a contributing resource in a historic district.     MORE

This year, $796,706 in Historic Preservation Restoration grant funding was given out to 24 worthy recipients who completed applications for consideration.

The amount of funding fluctuates each year depending on the taxes collected.

Among the recipients was the City of Menifee in Conway County to replace windows; doors; repoint masonry & exterior repair at the Menifee Gym, $59,445.      MORE

Designed by Reinhold Technology Solutions